Featured

R&A hint that Mickelson repeat would see disqualification


The R&A have hinted that a repeat of the infamous Phil Mickelson US Open controversy could result in disqualification at Carnoustie.

Mickelson was roundly criticised for hitting a moving ball at Shinnecock Hills as he decided to take the two-stroke penalty rather than see his ball roll off the green.

Initially defending his actions, the 48-year-old Californian then backtracked and issued an apology, but the issue is still being talked about as the next major approaches.

The Open Championship begins at the tough Scottish course on Thursday and R&A chief executive Martin Slumbers told reporters on Wednesday that there are other options available for a similar misdemeanour.

“I have talked to Phil since he’s been here this week,” he said. “Not putting words into his mouth, paraphrasing his words, but he essentially admits it wasn’t his finest hour and I agree.

“We understand the decisions made at Shinnecock and completely respect those decisions. We have looked very carefully at the rules and I don’t think it was good for the game and not the right way to have played this wonderful sport.

“Rule 1-2 says you cannot use 1-2 if you’ve used another rule so they used 14-5 which doesn’t have a DQ (disqualification) option.

“But there are other parts of the rule book which refer to etiquette and the powers of the committee and we are fully aware of those clauses.”

Interbet

Betting Directory

Betting Directory
Betting Directory

Have your say!

FFC Blog Network
Seo wordpress plugin by www.seowizard.org.